Client Showcase | Jasmine Katatikarn, Co-Founder of KIDKATAT

kidkatat_jasmine.jpg

32605127254_236f962027_z.jpg

33292553302_df4735fe79_z.jpg

33448300985_e42368573e_z.jpg

jas.jpg

33277257362_cdbb64f346_k.jpg

33064884140_083d3b96bd_z.jpg

12898412_10156802733860235_2865090383448185744_o.jpg

Let’s start at the beginning. What was your initial inspiration for KIDKATAT?

After having Teagan, my daughter, I was overwhelmed and surprised by all the “things” out there that:

  1. Were unnecessary
  2. Poorly designed
  3. Did nothing to help the everyday busy parent

KIDKATAT helps parents by doing the research and work to choose what products and services are the best, saving their time to focus on what matters most.

How long have you been in business?

KIDKATAT is just in it’s infancy – I would say in baby terms we are 3 months old. We are full of ideas that are waiting to be unleashed. Start following us as we grow, it’s going to be a great adventure!
What do you think sets you apart from others in your field?

KIDKATAT is not focused on showing you endless reviews on multiple products that you may or may not need. Everything we feature at KIDKATAT is approved and vetted. This means less choosing and time spent on your part researching giving you more time for the things you want to focus on.

As we all know, finding property in New York is a process. How did you find your current place? What was on your wishlist?

Yes, we were looking for our current place for 2 years! 20 rejected offers later, all going well over asking, we actually decided to try to make our one bedroom work and live a very life edited life. It was then when our current apartment came on the market. We owe it to our real estate agent for getting us in first! Sometimes things just work out. I am very grateful.

What are some of your favorite things about New York City and your neighborhood in particular?

Where do I begin?? The main thing I love about living NYC is that I can walk everywhere or use public transportation. It’s so nice to just walk outside your door to get a cup of coffee or run to the store without having to deal with getting in a car (especially with a young child – no wrangling in and out of a car seat). Amazing food and coffee options! In my neighborhood, UWS, it’s central park. Every time I go for my run around the reservoir, I feel so grateful to have central park as my backyard. It never gets old and I’ve been living here for 15 years.

How would you describe your personal style? How does fashion influence your interior design style?

My personal style is casual with pops of color. My interior design style is very similar. I actually attempted to go for a more subdued color palette when I first started designing my space, but quickly found it just wasn’t “me”. If you look at the hallway color and artwork in my living room, you will understand my style very well.
Where do you shop for affordable home decor and unique finds? Or, how did you stick to a budget for decor and furnishings?

I definitely had a budget for decor and furnishings and found a good mix of high end and low end work well to balance the money. On the high end I would splurge on key pieces like my dining room table and built ins but then I would make compromises and use ikea budget friendly furniture creatively (like on my bedroom wall – those are all ikea).

I find that if you mix high and low in the right way, it will all look high end!

I really like West Elm lately, their designs are right on point and they are affordable. For unique finds, I search through Pinterest for ideas and then hunt them down online.

Is there a piece in your apartment that holds special value to you? Why?

As I try to live a more minimalist lifestyle, focusing less on “stuff” and more on experience, not that many physical things hold too much value anymore. That being said, if I had to choose one thing in my home, it would be the poster in my daughter’s room from the peanuts movie I recently worked on. Many of my co-workers, including the director signed it for her and I just love the message “Dream Big”. It encompasses everything I want for my daughter and family. An inspiring message that is surrounded by support & love (friends signatures and notes for her).

Where do you see yourself and KIDKATAT five years from now?

I see myself and KIDKATAT being the go to resource for all things parenting within 5 years. KIDKATAT is also planning to come out with their own line, KIDKATAT Originals, so stay tuned for that!

When you think of the Slate service, what 3 words come to mind?

Convenient, smart, luxurious.

When is your favorite part about the Slate experience?

Being able to leave the house in the morning without frantically trying to tidy up (picking up toys, cleaning dishes, making beds) .. and then magically coming home after a long day at work to find it all done!

What are some of your favorite things to do with the extra hour of your life now NOT spent keeping your apartment looking flawless?

Working on KIDKATAT (haha.. ). Favorite thing with that extra hour is definitely spending time with my daughter, every minute is so precious and I am so grateful for Slate’s services. The extra moments I get with my daughter are priceless!

Leave a Reply

